Rajasthan forms CM’s Economic Transformation Advisory Council

eGov, March 11, 2020

Post directions from the State Government of Rajasthan, Chief Minister’s Economic Transformation Advisory Council has been formed. Chief Minister of Rajasthan Ashok Gehlot will be the Chairman of the council, whereas, Dr Arvind Mayaram has been appointed as the Vice-Chairman and Dr Govind Sharma as advisor member.

Bhanwarlal Bairava, Joint Secretary, CMETC Rajasthan informed that the council has appointed Chief Secretary and Additional Chief Secretary Finance and Principal Secretary to Chief Minister as Members and Principal Government Secretary Planning as Member Secretary.

Dr Rathin Roy, Dr Ashok Gulati, Anil Agarwal, Lakshmi Niwas Mittal, Naina Lal Kidwai, Dr Devi Shetty, Vikram Mehta, Keshav Desiraju, Naved Khan, Dr Shiv Kumar Sarin, Dr Ashok Panagadia, Faith Singh, Nandita Das, Dr Jayotindra Jain, Kavita Singh, Professor Errol D’Souza, Amit Kapoor, Vijay Kumar, Rajeev Gowda, Mangu Singh, Pradeep S Mehta, and Professor Dinesh Singh are members included in the council.

Ministers of State, additional chief secretaries of the concerned departments, principal secretaries of Government nominated by the Chief Minister will also be called for discussions during the council meetings.

The council will identify the challenges faced by the authorities in terms of economic growth, development in the state, especially financial management, increasing productivity, create employment opportunities and so on.

The council will be the advisory body for the effective implementation of basic services like education, health, and sanitation. Moreover, the purpose of the council is to study in-depth specific economic and financial policy topics of the state, identify new initiatives that can be taken to improve the current scenario and ensure their mid-term progress and reviews at various levels of implementation.

In a period of every six months, the council will hold a meeting for once at least. The council will have a working group comprising of subject experts nominated by the CM. The working group will be providing meaningful suggestions along with research and analytical activities to prepare a policy paper for the council.

The working group members can be nominated from the council members or from outside for a period of two years. The tenure of the council will be till March 2022 and it can also be extended if necessary.

This news item can also be viewed at: